Tuesday, December 19, 2006

Heads Up! Here comes Attributor

There's something new on the horizon in the rash of copyright protection services called Attributor that announced major VC funding yesterday. The WSJ ran a piece about how Attributor will scan the web for violations, and noted the founders are ex-Yahooligans.

Did a quick look at Attributor and they seem to be on the Yahoo backbone which is interesing.

host attributor.com
attributor.com has address
attributor.com has address
attributor.com has address
attributor.com has address
attributor.com has address
attributor.com has address

host domain name pointer p3w10.geo.re2.yahoo.com.

host domain name pointer p3w11.geo.re2.yahoo.com.

host domain name pointer p3w9.geo.re2.yahoo.com.


OrgName: Inktomi Corporation
Address: 701 First Ave
City: Sunnyvale
StateProv: CA
PostalCode: 94089
Country: US

NetRange: -
Didn't notice anything obvious crawling from that range in my blocked bots log but it's possible I let them slide because they are within the Yahoo/Inktomi range, will need to check that out.

However, the WSJ article did mention that they have "...begun testing a system to scan the billions of pages on the Web..." and that "The company says it will have over 10 billion Web pages in its index before the end of this month." which I find hard to believe they crawled on their own completely unnoticed unless they are sharing Yahoo's cache.

No clue at the moment, but keep an eye out for whatever this is.

Let the Yahoo IP address hysteria start in 5... 4... 3... 2....


Anonymous said... = Akamai Hosting = Akamai Hosting
Spammers use Akamai Webservices, too (that's the way I found these IP ranges).

thetrasher said...

Compare with the A records of premium3.geo.yahoo.akadns.net:

It's only clustered hosting. You won't see any crawler from there.

dan said...

Interesting, Bill. Thanks for the info.

skore said...

The Yahoo connection makes sense since Jim Brock (one of the co-founders) is a former Yahoo guy. Also - it will be interesting to see if Yahoo plans to use this for their search engine (detecting duplicate content, etc)

Anonymous said...

This service is a menace to the web - their methods crash startup sites.